Game: Backgammon - Tips and pointers for pips and points
Please read the Discussion Board Rules before participating in the discussion boards.
Post a new comment                         Expand all messages                         Show all boards                         Subscribe Subscribe

(#5674372) Re: Notation
Posted by Jools on 15 Mar 2025 at 11:33AM
No idea then
(#5674370) Re: Notation
Posted by rollmodown on 15 Mar 2025 at 10:30AM
Apologies, I don't understand. Board rotation has no bearing on standard notation. The board can be rotated any way at all and the notation doesn't change.
(#5674365) Re: Notation
Posted by Jools on 15 Mar 2025 at 9:57AM
Presumably as you can rotate the board to suit your preference standard notation might not work.
(#5674348) Notation
Posted by rollmodown on 15 Mar 2025 at 8:03AM
Why is game notation done in this strange way? Is there any way GoldToken could convert to standard backgammon notation?
(#5674284) Re: Loss of turn with doubling answer
Posted by CloudUK on 15 Mar 2025 at 1:37AM
If your opponent chooses to offer a double, they have to do it before they roll. Therefore, if you accept, they then roll. If you decline, then the computer will roll one dice for you and one for your opponent to decide who starts the next round. Whoever gets the highest number plays that roll. If it's a double the dice are rolled again.
(#5671079) Re: Corrupt game
Posted by eliphont551 on 27 Feb 2025 at 3:15PM
Underneath the game board - click on Adjust graphics

Here you can rotate the board


Board graphics
The labels on the points will be drawn with graphics. You may choose to use text labels or leave the labels off altogether

The board is set up to be displayed with the bear-off point to the right, so your pieces always move counterclockwise. You may change it so that your pieces always move like on a real backgammon board or clockwise

High five
(#5671072) Re: Corrupt game
Posted by Jools on 27 Feb 2025 at 2:52PM
I can't see a problem either.
What exactly do you mean by "reversed"?
Have you checked your graphic settings?
(#5671064) Re: Corrupt game
Posted by rollmodown on 27 Feb 2025 at 2:38PM
I checked all the moves and everything appears normal. What am I missing?
(#5671061) Corrupt game
Posted by TabbyCat on 27 Feb 2025 at 2:29PM
If anyone can check out this game 14648137, you'll notice the white pieces move in reverse
(#5667880) Re: Loss of turn with doubling answer
Posted by hoof hearted on 14 Feb 2025 at 4:03PM
We all play by the same rules. It's the rules of that game.
(#5667796) Re: Loss of turn with doubling answer
Posted by Jools on 14 Feb 2025 at 5:35AM
That's how it's meant to work.
You do realise if you reject the double you lose that game?
It took me a few games before I worked out when best to accept or reject
(#5667788) Re: Loss of turn with doubling answer
Posted by eliphont551 on 14 Feb 2025 at 4:48AM
To add to that. Your opponent losses their turn also.

They offer a double, they do not make any moves.

You accept/deny, you do not get to make any moves.

The turn goes back to the opponent & the game goes on. Enjoy the game
(#5667759) Re: Loss of turn with doubling answer
Posted by Sea of vapours on 14 Feb 2025 at 2:32AM
If you look at the 'Past moves' list, beneath the game, you can see that you did have that roll on the previous roll, and moved it. Move 67 in the match is : B7-W12 B7-W12 W12-W6 W12-W6 by you followed by your oppoents offer to double. It's never the case that you can see your roll before accepting or decling a double.
(#5667756) Loss of turn with doubling answer
Posted by LumberJill on 14 Feb 2025 at 1:47AM
Backgammon 9 point game #14551645. Opponent offered up double. My roll double sixes. I accepted the double offer because I see I rolled double sixes however I don't get to use them. I lose a turn if I accept, lose the game if I don't. I think that is totally messed up! Wth! Do you all think that's fair. Heck I might offer to double the stakes now that I know the opponent loses a turn if they accept or the game if the don't. Either way , it's messed up. I think that needs to be fixed. If I am wrong please show me. It shows I rolled two sixes. On the board. I don't have that roll the previous roll so where does it go.? Totally just want to bail on all my games and say the heck with you guys.
(#5666234) Re: Tabula bug
Posted by Games Administrator on 6 Feb 2025 at 5:43PM
Wording has been corrected in the rules. High five
(#5666003) Re: Tabula bug
Posted by Big Giant Head on 6 Feb 2025 at 2:12AM
It's been mentioned a couple of times before.
(#5664725) Re: Tabula bug
Posted by Jools on 31 Jan 2025 at 8:24PM
There aren't any "official" rules to tabula, so the easiest option is to simply rewrite them
(#5664701) Re: Tabula bug
Posted by rollmodown on 31 Jan 2025 at 4:09PM
Well, then the rules page should be rewritten to reflect the actual rules.
(#5664700) Re: Tabula bug
Posted by Big Giant Head on 31 Jan 2025 at 3:53PM
Tabula doesn't force you to use all three dice despite what it says in the rules. You could have saved that move had you chosen to do so.
(#5664669) Re: Tabula bug
Posted by rollmodown on 31 Jan 2025 at 2:02PM
Ok let's start a Tabula game and see.
(#5664660) Re: Tabula bug
Posted by hoof hearted on 31 Jan 2025 at 1:12PM
But you didn't click save, because that's not what it shows. You don't know if it's gonna allow it until you click save.
(#5664656) Re: Tabula bug
Posted by rollmodown on 31 Jan 2025 at 12:57PM
As I explained, the interface appeared to allow for a move failing to use all dice to submitted.
(#5664640) Re: Tabula bug
Posted by hoof hearted on 31 Jan 2025 at 12:30PM
It looks like you moved all the dice
(#5664453) Tabula bug
Posted by rollmodown on 30 Jan 2025 at 2:50PM
In game #14638929 I've encountered a bug.

Tabula rules state "All dice must be played if possible."

At the start of move #14 I (rollmodown) rolled 5-3-2 with my three dice. The game is allowing me to make the move B9-B12 B9-B11, then prompting me to "submit" the move. This should be illegal, as it uses the 3 and 2, precluding the 5. Moves using the 5 (Start-B3 B3-B8 B9-B11, for example) are possible, and should be required by the rules. Please advise.
(#5659373) Re: is this a bug?
Posted by antibs on 9 Jan 2025 at 12:08PM
I have found that, the past twp days, moves"froze" and

a move was not allowed.
(#5647458) Re: is this a bug?
Posted by Jools on 23 Nov 2024 at 6:44AM
yeah it doesn't seem to obey the setting in preferences
Another variant does it too, but forget which
(#5647430) Re: is this a bug?
Posted by marcmandy on 23 Nov 2024 at 5:58AM

I think that's a graphics adjustment- start from left or start from right.
(#5647355) Re: is this a bug?
Posted by Jools on 22 Nov 2024 at 10:08PM
The graphics are wrong also, rules stat both players move ACW, but if you are playing white ii moves CW
(#5647351) Re: is this a bug?
Posted by Jools on 22 Nov 2024 at 10:03PM
but moving there would only give me 3. Similar moves in other games are allowed if you check the tournament
(#5647342) Re: is this a bug?
Posted by marcmandy on 22 Nov 2024 at 9:26PM
I am not sure if this applies here. In the rules it states
“Additionally, each player is forbidden from occupying more than 4 out of the six locations in the starting section of his opponent, so as to prevent early blockades.”
(#5647338) is this a bug?
Posted by Jools on 22 Nov 2024 at 9:14PM
In #14549352 it won't let me move from B11-B5, am I missing something or is it a bug?

Post a new comment                         Expand all messages                         Show all boards                         Subscribe Subscribe